Encounter Board

Encounter Board (http://www.shirleymaclaine.com/encounter/index.php)
-   Books! Books! Books! (http://www.shirleymaclaine.com/encounter/forumdisplay.php?f=288)
-   -   Out On A Leash (http://www.shirleymaclaine.com/encounter/showthread.php?t=214524)

Norma Rae 09-12-2013 06:31 PM

Out On A Leash

Friends,

I know I am new to the party here with all of these books and am having to play catch-up, but what a joy it has been so far, and I truly appreciate talking to each and every one of you about these discoveries.

After listening to an interview between Brit and SM when Out On A Leash was first released, I thought, well . . . I should read this book as it is right in line with the spirituality themes of Out On A Limb, The Camino, Saging While Aging. But then I thought, perhaps I should listen to this one as an audiobook as I drive to/from work to get the full effect of the conversations between SM/Terry. So, downloaded the audiobook onto the ol' iPhone today and started listening on the way home this evening.

Friends . . . I kid you not . . . as I was pulling into my home driveway, SM read the part about Terry being on the movie set and being big pals with the Teamsters who work on the movies and how "Terry is a Teamster dog."

Whoa. *cut to: me almost driving my car through the garage door*

As some of you may know by now, I am a union-side labor attorney. Okay--revealing a bit about myself/identity (with a small "i"), but I trust this group--I exclusively represent the Teamsters. Not only the Teamsters, but the Teamster Local (in a certain large midwestern city) that has as one of its bargaining units the guys who work on movies here. (We represent a very wide variety of industries, but the movies here in this city have our guys working 'em).